Updated list of affected countries; a new requirement for carriers


2021 03 29


Following the Friday update, the Principality of Andorra, Aruba, the Republic of Bulgaria, Kosovo, the French Republic, the Italian Republic, the Republic of Slovenia, the Republic of North Macedonia and the Oriental Republic of Uruguay have been added to the list of countries whence arrivals fall subject to tighter self-isolation requirements; the Republic of Slovenia has been removed from the list. There is a new requirement for crew members who plan to stay in Lithuania longer than 72 hours to bring in a negative COVID-19 test or get tested in Lithuania.

The updated requirements for carriers impose an obligation for crew members carrying out international commercial transportation by all types of vehicles who plan to stay in Lithuania longer than 72 hours to present on their arrival a document (in one of the official languages of the European Union) confirming a test for COVID-19 (coronavirus infection) taken within 72 hours at the earliest before the arrival in Lithuania and a negative test result.

Should they fail to present a test, they will be required, within 24 hours of the arrival in Lithuania, to contact the Coronavirus Hotline at 1808 or other establishment that performs coronavirus tests to book a visit for testing and take a test in due time. Managers of companies operating international commercial transportation in Lithuania will have to inform their staff who stay longer than 72 hours in Lithuania about this requirement.

These requirements will not apply in the case of crew members engaged in the carriage of passengers on international routes by all types of vehicles, who return to/ arrive in the Republic of Lithuania on international passenger routes organised and operated by carriers as regular, special and charter services by all types of vehicles.

The self-isolation rules updated on Friday clarify the self-isolation exemption for seafarers. From now on, self- isolation will be mandatory only for those seafarers who are crew members carrying passengers on international routes.

Another important change in the self-isolation rules applies to employees of listed occupations who come from the countries whence arrivals fall subject to enhanced communicable disease control measures: they will be able to self-isolate in the same apartment or house with other family members that have not travelled together. Family members of these employees will not need to self-isolate.

The self-isolation exemptions set out in the self-isolation rules are available on the NPHC website: nvsc.lrv.lt/isimtys.

The list of affected countries is published every Friday to take effect on Monday for a weekly duration.




Press Service, Ministry of Health